Balance AC helps to reduce electricity costs for users with electricity tariffs with variable pricing and an air-to-air heat pump (AC). It limits your heat pump (AC) use when electricity tariffs are high, while still maintaining comfort in your home.

It’s currently only available to selected tado° users.

To benefit from Balance AC you need the following:

  • An air-to-air heat pump (AC) controlled by a tado° Smart AC Control

  • A dynamic time-of-use electricity tariff that uses hourly (or even more precise) prices throughout the day

Once you activate Balance AC in the app, you’ll be able to access it from the Home screen, in the tado° app.

How Balance AC works

Balance AC tracks fluctuating electricity prices throughout the day to identify when prices will be highest, to help you reduce consumption during those times. It identifies up to nine segments during the day to turn off your heat pump (AC), for up to 60 minutes. This can help you save up to 22%* on your electricity bill.

You can also select when you want to override scheduled off-times, by deselecting certain suggested time blocks for that day.

Balance AC also ensures that your room temperature doesn’t go too far below or above your desired temperature to maintain your comfort.

Note: at the moment, your estimated savings are not yet visible as part of Energy Savings in the tado° app. This will become available at a later point in time.

Savings from Balance AC

Based on data from tado° beta testers between February and April 2022, Balance AC leads to estimated savings of up to 22%. This estimate considers the proportion of time the AC was on and the electricity prices corresponding to those times, as provided by ENTSO-E (market prices) and Octopus Agile (consumer prices currently used for all UK users).

These testers lived in Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden, and Balance AC completed at least 25% of the scheduled off-times.

Available in: Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Did this answer your question?